Geneva 

Trade and Development

Workshop

Sharing frontier research in international trade and development

The seminars will take place online on Mondays at 4 PM CET / 3 PM GMT / 10 AM ET and last for one hour and fifteen minutes including questions. To attend, please register below.

Schedule - Fall 2020

05 Oct. 2020 *

Nina Pavcnik

Dartmouth College

FDI Inflows and Domestic Firms: Adjustments to New Export Opportunities

joint with Brian McCaig and Woan Foong Wong

12 Oct. 2020 *

Pol Antràs

Harvard University

Globalization and Pandemics

joint with Stephen Redding and Esteban Rossi-Hansberg

26 Oct. 2020 *

Beata Javorcik

University of Oxford and EBRD

Unravelling Deep Integration: Local Labour Market Effects of the Brexit Vote

joint with Ben Kett, Layla O’Kane and Katherine Stapleton

09 Nov. 2020

David Atkin

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

The Returns to Face-to-Face Interactions: Knowledge Spillovers in Silicon Valley

joint with Keith Chen and Anton Popov

(slides)

Recording

30 Nov. 2020

Mary Amiti

Federal Reserve Bank of New York

(Title of talk TBA)

(slides)

Recording

07 Dec. 2020

Laura Alfaro

Harvard Business School

(Title of talk TBA)

(slides)

Recording

14 Dec. 2020

Dave Donaldson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Exports, Imports, and Earnings Inequality: Micro-Data and Macro-Lessons From Ecuador

joint with Rodrigo Adão, Paul Carrillo, Arnaud Costinot and Dina Pomeranz

(slides)

Recording

* On 05 Oct. 2020 and 12 Oct. 2020, the seminar will take place at 4PM (CEST), 3PM (BST), 10AM (EST). On 26 Oct. 2020, the seminar will take place at 4PM (CET), 3PM (GMT), 11AM (EST).

 

Registration

Please register here for the events. You will receive the Zoom link to join the seminars as a participant once your registration has been approved. 

Please note that this is an academic seminar series. Given the possible wider interests of the presentations, all seminars will be live-streamed on our YouTube channel. To follow our events live, click on Live Streaming on the top menu. 

 

Organisers of the Current Edition

GTDW Scientific Committee

 

The Geneva Trade and Development Workshop (GTDW) is a joint seminar series of the Geneva School of Economics and Management (GSEM), the Graduate Institute in Geneva (IHEID), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO). After twelve years of running as an on-site seminar, we are joining forces with the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) to bring the GTDW online, with the aim of sharing frontier research in international trade and development.

 

Contact us at 

gtdw@wto.org